Home > daily drinks
Share this page
Drinks industry executives take out top CFO awards

Drinks industry executives take out top CFO awards

The drinks industry has dominated the CFO category at the CEO Magazine Executive of the Year Awards

Coles CFO Leah Weckert and TWE CFO Matt Young took out CFO of the Year and CFO Runner Up of the Year respectively at the awards.  

Australia’s top executives gathered to celebrate the winners at The Palladium at Crown, Melbourne, last week.

CEO Magazine noted: "Leah came to Coles Group at a tumultuous time, just as a new CEO was starting and Coles was demerging from Wesfarmers. In such a difficult environment, she rose to the challenge, overseeing a $1.5 billion profit last year. But most critically, she revitalised the company’s strategic direction, having launched a new strategy in June. Focusing on helping Australians lead healthy and happy lives, Leah has helped lead new partnerships, campaigns and initiatives to communicate this to the Group’s customer base."

Regarding Young, the magazine said: "A responsibility for financial operations across Australia, China, Singapore, the US and Europe is no small feat, but for the past year, Matt has handled this for Treasury Wine Estates. His success is no doubt down to his belief in the ‘why’ of finance, ensuring buy-in and engagement from his team through a hands-on leadership style. While the company shifted to self-distribution in the US, Matt’s work has helped avoid cash flow problems and maintain a dedicated team."

TWE added: "Matt Young was recognised for his outstanding achievements with TWE and named CFO of the Year Runner-up by CEO Magazine. Matt was appointed Chief Financial Officer in May 2018, after several years in various senior finance roles across TWE, including leading the global financial control team, and his most recent position as Deputy CFO. Congratulations Matt on this achievement."

Here is the full list of winners: 

CEO of the Year - David Hackett, CEO (MLC Life Insurance)

CEO of the Year Runner-Up - Fiona Johnston, CEO (UM Australia)

CEO of the Year Highly Commended - Anthony Nantes, CEO (Wisr)

Managing Director of the Year - Caleb Bush, Managing Director Senior Vice President (GPJ ANZ)

Managing Director of the Year Runner-Up - Leanne Harwood, Managing Director Australasia and Japan (InterContinental Hotels Group)

COO of the Year - Kiri Brain, former COO (Nexia Australia)

COO of the Year Runner-Up - Jeff Yu, Co-Founder and COO (One Stop Warehouse)

CFO of the Year - Leah Weckert, CFO (Coles Group)

CFO of the Year Runner-Up - Matt Young, CFO (Treasury Wine Estates)

Lifetime Achievement Award - Gina Rinehart, Executive Chairman (Hancock Prospecting)

HR Executive of the Year - Natalie Brooke, HR Manager (Menulog)

Marketing Executive of the Year - Krystel Cochico, National Marketing and Communications Manager (VISA Global Logistics)

Sales Executive of the Year - Michael Reid, General Manager QLD, NT and PNG (Cisco)

Young Executive of the Year - Caleb Bush, Managing Director Senior Vice President / Managing Director ANZ (GPJ ANZ / Project Worldwide)

Start-Up Executive of the Year - Kristofer Rogers, CEO (Split Payments)

Executive Assistant of the Year - Justin Barwick, Executive Assistant to Chief Human Resources Officer (Serco Asia Pacific)

Education Executive of the Year - Jon Whittle, Executive Dean, Faculty of Information Technology (Monash University)

Professional Services Executive of the Year - Milan Andjelkovic, Managing Director, Strategy (TM Insight)

Financial Services and Insurance Executive of the Year - Bobby Lehane, CEO (CHU Underwriting Agencies)

Hospitality and Tourism Executive of the Year - Phillipa Harrison, Executive General Manager International (Tourism Australia)

Energy and Resources Executive of the Year - Gina Rinehart, Executive Chairman (Hancock Prospecting)

Building and Construction Executive of the Year - Sam El Rihani, Founder and Managing Director (Decode Group)

Health and Pharmaceutical Executive of the Year - Stuart Chesneau, Executive Director, Business Growth and Innovation (Australian Red Cross Blood Service)

IT and Telecommunications Executive of the Year - David Dicker, CEO and Chairman (Dicker Data)

Transport and Logistics Executive of the Year – Joint Winner - Scott Walker, National Transport Manager, Commercial
(VISA Global Logistics)

Transport and Logistics Executive of the Year – Joint Winner - Julian Leach, Co-Founder and CEO (ParcelPoint)

Retail Executive of the Year - Matthew Keighran, Managing Director South East Asia Pacific (Hugo Boss)

Media Executive of the Year - Fiona Johnston, CEO (UM Australia)

Not-For-Profit Executive of the Year - Vedran Drakulic OAM, CEO (Gandel Philanthropy)